How to Stick to your New Year’s Resolution

“New Year, New You”

Every year gyms and wellness centers plaster this saying all over the place. It’s a great idea, but we all know how New Year’s resolutions end. 2-3 weeks of blood, sweat, and tears… then excuses. ūüė¶ If you are planning to get back in shape for 2017, don’t be a resolution victim! It’s hard to stick to a routine, but it isn’t impossible! I’ll let you in on my ways for keeping my clients motivated.

Everyone exercises for different reasons- aesthetics, health, sports.¬†¬†You have to find your reason. Make sure it’s one that will push you through that last rep. Keep it in mind whenever you’re about to make an excuse not to workout. Working out has always been an outlet for me. I know I will feel better after I crush it in the gym! I know how I will feel if I half ass a workout, and that drives me through every set. It’s not about just looking good, it’s about feeling good too.

Don’t overdo it! Don’t feel like you have to¬†compensate for all the missed workouts¬†in 2016. You will burn out and lose motivation. Instead, pace yourself. Your body needs time to adapt. Find a starting point, and let yourself progress over time from there. You don’t have to be in the gym every day. Begin with a full body routine 3x a week. I always start my beginners with full body, focusing on activating the glutes and abdominals. After 4 weeks you can step it up, coming 4x a week and starting a split routine- upper/lower, push/pull.

Avoid the crazy diet trap! Just like I said before, you don’t have to make up for all the cookies you ate in 2016. One day at a time, one meal at a time. Your body needs time to adapt so avoid drastically cutting calories. Your workouts will suffer. Instead of subtracting things, start by¬†adding healthy foods to your diet. You will become full on the healthy foods and won’t have any room for the junk! Plus, your body won’t feel depraved, and your energy level will increase!

Bring a friend or consider hiring a trainer! Having someone to hold you accountable the first couple weeks can keep you from falling off the resolution bandwagon. Once you see results, it becomes addicting. You set standards for yourself and anything less is unacceptable!

I love helping people reach their goals. It really does upset me to see people kill it for 3 weeks then disappear. Find what motivates you, pace yourself, fuel yourself, and hold yourself accountable. Don’t hesitate to contact me¬†if you¬†need advice or accountability ūüôā

 

Leave a Reply

