Protein Pops

Giving up sweets, especially chocolate, is one of the hardest things a girl can go through! I always loved baking, but as a personal trainer and nutritional consultant, my favorite past time contradicted my lifestyle 😦 but i didn’t let that stop me! i surfed the web and found all kinds of healthier versions of my favorite recipes! However, this recipe i have for you today is created by me! It’s perfect for satisfying that sweet tooth and getting the right amount of protein you need for your diet!

Summer time is the perfect time to enjoy ice cream and milkshakes! But you don’t want yourself or your kids to indulge in chemically rich, sweet treats. This is my favorite protein shake recipe, however, i poured it into BPA free popsicle molds and let it freeze overnight to make… Protein Popsicles! The following morning I hosted my first group exercise class and passed these out at the end. They were a hit!

1 cup of Almond Milk

2 tablespoons of fresh ground Almond Butter

1 frozen Banana

1 1/2 tablespoons of unsweetened coco powder

2 packets of Stevia or a tablespoon of organic honey

add spinach or kale (spinach has a less noticeable flavor) and sprinkle cinnamon into the mix

you can add ice to give you a few extra servings

Blend ingredients together and pour into popsicle molds! Let freeze overnight. When you take them out to thaw, make sure you place them in warm water before you try and dig them out. Enjoy!

If that’s not enough protein for you, check out my favorite organic protein powder from Garden of Life! It’s perfect with Horizon’s Chocolate Milk. Feel free to share your favorite recipe with me at mariahshawpt@gmail.com 🙂

Leave a Reply

