Input vs. Output

When it comes to being in shape, most people think of going to the gym on a regular basis. “You can eat whatever you want as long as you workout!” is a common phrase just about everyone has heard. But is it really true? Can you eat whatever you want and expect to see the results you’ve been working for?

The answer is no.

You have to have a well-balanced input in accordance with the output. Whatever you put into your body will affect the performance of your workout. Would that delicious slice of pizza help you push through that last set of burpees? probably not..

And if you are trying to lose weight (not just maintain your awesome physique!) your output must be greater than your input. there are 3,500 calories in 1 pound of fat. Multiply that number by the number of pounds you want to lose (lets just say 5lbs) that means you have to burn 17,500 calories! But don’t worry! You can lose that 5 pounds in just over a month if you have a daily caloric deficit around 564. Not all of that will come from exercise, but from changing your diet too! However, it can be hard to workout on a restricted-calorie diet, so make sure that your body has time to adjust to the new meal plan before busting your tail at the gym! Just fuel your body with the right foods that don’t slow you down.

~~~Personally I have had great workouts with an unhealthy diet then after a few weeks pass I feel lethargic and cease the gym time. The only way I have fixed this imbalance is by focusing on my diet. When I have completely mastered my meal plans and am able to stick with the diet I have created for myself, I shift the attention to what I do in the gym. Now that I can properly fuel my workouts, I can progress them much quicker and without the feeling of burning out after a few weeks of intense gym sessions.

Leave a Reply

